Get past the point

For any questions and tips and tricks on how to use Basecamp for PC then please post in this section.
Milu23771
Posts: 49
Joined: 27 Nov 2020 22:04
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 8 times
Italy

Get past the point

Post by Milu23771 »

Hello everyone, I searched in the topics, but I did not find, so I apologize if the topic had already been dealt with. It happens that, when I create a path with the new path mode, icon of the three green points, then adding point by point, without having first created any Waypoint, often placing a point, it happens that the magenta line, instead of going up there, you pass, thus showing the red direction arrows, which go beyond the last point created and then reverse the course and return there. The problem is that by transferring such a created path to my Zumo XT, I get constant U-turn requests at those points.
I saw a YouTube tutorial a few days ago, and during the creation of the route, the phenomenon also occurred to the Youtuber with some points placed.
Thanks to those who will be able to give me some tips. Hello
jfheath
Posts: 740
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 53 times
Been liked: 190 times
Great Britain

Re: Get past the point

Post by jfheath »

Hi Milu

When you place a point using the insert tool (pencil) or the new route tool (3 green squares), you can often get unexpected behaviour.

The point that you place can often jump or snap to a point that is different from the place that you thought you were pointing to. This can be for a number of reasons.
eg -
  • there is a 'known' location near to your pointer, and it has assumed that you wanted to select that point.
  • The map is not plotted accurately enough. - eg your map is set to Low, Lower or Lowest - when roads are often plotted with straight sections rather than curves.
  • You are not zoomed into the area where you are placing the point.
This behaviour is normal. It is annoying - but normal.

Once you have finished the route, double click on it to get the route properties dialogue box. See below.

Misplaced point.jpg

Tick the 'Center Map' box (outlined in red in the picture above).
Then click on every point in turn in the list. The column is headed 'Via Point Name' - but it shows all of the points - Via Points and Shaping Points. The map will zoom in and show the point in the centre of the map, surrounded by an orange circle.
If it is incorrectly placed, then move it - right click on it and select Move Route Point (PC instruction).
Then double click the route again to continue.

Check every point that you have placed.

Make this a habit every time that you create a route. It is so easy to place a point on the wrong side of a dual carriageway. The problem is that to create a long route, you need to have a low level of detail map and show much of it on the screen at one. Otherwise the computer runs really slowly as it redraws all of the detail on the map.
But to place the points accurately, you need the map to be in High level of detail and zoomed in as close as you can get.

When I create a route these days, if I haven't already created the points that I need as waypoints, I just place them approximately, and then leave the accurate placing for when I check it later when it is zoomed in and showing a Higher level of detail
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ST1300A9 - Currently: Zumo 590/5 and Zumo XT - Previous: Zumo 550 and Zumo 660.
BTM03 module to provide Bluetooth link to Autocom. XT paired up to Android Smartphone
Milu23771
Posts: 49
Joined: 27 Nov 2020 22:04
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 8 times
Italy

Re: Get past the point

Post by Milu23771 »

Hi Jfheath, in the meantime, thanks for your attention, but every time I create a path I do, also thanks to your old post, the control of Waypoints and shape points, bringing back those that have been fixed to the side on the road. However, I meant that for some points, as long as they are perfectly centered on the carriageway, the magenta line does not stop where the black dot is, but continues a few centimeters later, following the layout of the road. Sometimes by moving the point beyond the extension of the magenta line, the problem is solved and the line itself stretches as far as I have moved with the "move point" tool, other times I move and he overtakes me again, he doesn't want to to be defeated😁.
However, it is not a drama, because for some time, again thanks to your post, I got into the habit of creating my routes by first placing all the Waypoints where I will make stops or breaks in the journey, and then modeling it by adding points of shape and finally check all points. This way the problem does not occur, but when I am looking for new routes in areas I do not know, especially if I am looking for unpaved roads, the other method would be more convenient. Hello and thank you again for all the time and work used to help laymen like me🖐️

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests