Sync routes/trips Explore to/from XT

Having Garmin zumo XT problems? there is loads of help and advice in this forum
wahorn
United States of America

Sync routes/trips Explore to/from XT

Post by wahorn »

Paging @jfheath
I'm new to the XT and Explore but not to Garmin Zumo and Basecamp. I've been using both for years. As I am learning the functionality of the XT and Explore I can't figure out why Explore won't sync Trips (Routes) that were sent to my XT from Basecamp. It syncs tracks and waypoints fine. Also, if I download a gpx file from email on my phone with tracks and routes and send it to the Explore app on iphone when it syncs with the XT there are no routes, only tracks. I've figured out collections with the help of other posts by jfheath and his fine manual. Hey John, ST-Owner here.

Open to suggestions for Routes

Ashley in Florida
jfheath
Has liked: 280 times
Been liked: 610 times
Great Britain

Re: Sync routes/trips Explore to/from XT

Post by jfheath »

wahorn wrote: Sun Apr 17, 2022 1:05 am I can't figure out why Explore won't sync Trips (Routes) that were sent to my XT from Basecamp. It syncs tracks and waypoints fine. Also, if I download a gpx file from email on my phone with tracks and routes and send it to the Explore app on iphone when it syncs with the XT there are no routes, only tracks. I've figured out collections with the help of other posts by jfheath and his fine manual. Hey John, ST-Owner here.
Hi Ashley

You've found where I hide when I am not on ST-Owners !

Yes - you are correct in what you see.

Two Experiments - both with Explore Activated on the XT.

1) Basecamp Route 04 Cairndow. Contained A route plotted to Tomintoul from Cairndow. A track of the route. A number of Waypoints created with the flag tool in BAsecamp, and which were used in the route as either shaping points or via points.
I created a single GPX file of track, route and waypoints, using BAsecamp's export facility.

Emailed this to my smartphone witht he GPX attached.