Zumo 590 - What the Manuals Do not Tell.

For everything Garmin Zumo 590/595 related
Iris
Posts: 43
Joined: 31 Jul 2018 01:17
Been liked: 3 times
United States of America

Zumo 590 - What the Manuals Do not Tell.

Post by Iris »

I do all of my route planning and editing on BaseCamp, not the unit.

Rbentnail, I always check to make sure my gps says ready to navigate before I activate the route. I have learned to wait till the gps has located satellites.
I noticed that if I don’t wait, it will ignore my route a re-calculate even if I have recalculation disabled.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jfheath
Posts: 161
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 41 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 590 - What the Manuals Do not Tell.

Post by jfheath »

Ok. 595, route containing all shaping points. Transfers exactly and then changes.

A few possibilities

Possibility 1 - this scenario is a common user error.

You chose the end point as the place you want to go to next when you pressed Go.

When you start the route, it asks you to select the point you want to go to next, and it lists only the start, finish and any Via Points. In your case there are no via points, so it displays just the start and finish. This is actually asking which Via point is the one you want to start navigating from (at some point, Garmin decided to call Via Points 'destinations''). It is an opportunity to start a route from a mid point. It will then navigate you to that chosen point, using Fastest/shortest according to how your Navigation is set .
It then continues to navigate the route exactly as planned from that point.

In your case, if you select the start point ( which may be off the top of the screen), the satnav will take you to the start and continue your route precisely as it was planned in Basecamp.

If you select the final destination, it will ignore your planned route and all of the shaping point and just get you to the point you selected as the place you wanted to start from.

If you have start, finish and 3 via points in the route, and loads of shaping points, when you start the route there will be 5 suggestions for where you want to start the route. "Select Next Destination" == "which via point do you want to start from". Choose the middle one (say), you will get taken to that point using fastest / shortest route and all shaping points will be ignored. As soon as it gets there it starts to navigate each shaping point and via point in turn.

Possibility 2.

There are certain circumstances in the 590, 595 and XT when the entire route will recalculate. I've known this for a while, but only recently worked out some of the situations when it happens. One of these situations is when you press Skip. A new route is worked out to join together all of the shaping and via points. Often it will work out the same route as Basecamp did - you put the shaping points in to force it along certain roads, and it still honours all of these. But the actual route between the points may differ if it gets the chance to recalculate.

I haven't yet pinned down the other circumstances, but the route taken may be affected by the time of day, the day of the week and your own riding history. If you have TrafficTrends turned on on a 590, or traffic info from a smartphone on a 595, if it gets chance to recalculate it will take this other information into account. At least that is my suspicion so far. I have seen it avoid a main road around 5 in the evening on both a 590 and 595 at the same time. It thought the main road was busy at that time ( the info is built into the maps as historic data ). It took a while to work out when it did it as I couldn't get it to repeat the same result. But we had both pressed skip at some point on the route, so i reckon the recalculation happened then. From this incident it seemed that recalc happens due to traffic even if recalc is turned off. I turn TrafficTrends off on the 590. I haven't found a similar option on the 595 as yet.

The route certainly recalculates when you go off route, but I think it is only up to the next shaping point. I might be wrong about that, i need to check.

Possibility 3
Another suggestion is that no matter what your routing preferences are in the satnav (faster/ shorter / curvy / off road) for your vehicle, the route from basecamp transmits the routing preference that was set for the route to the zumo. And while the route is active, it uses that preference and not the one that was set in the Zumo before the route was loaded. So for example, you set your zumo to be fastest time. But the setting in basecamp was shorter distance. When the route is loaded into the zumo and run, it switches to shorter distance. So IF the route recalculates, it does so using shorter distance, and not fastest time. I always have basecamp and Zumo set to fastest time. It is more predictable, and stops me making that error.

Possibility 4.

Something i only spotted a few weeks ago. I have a ticket raised with Garmin about it, and had to send more info yesterday.
On the Zumos you can change a via point into a shaping point by touching the flag in the edit route list.
Perfectly ok in the 590. If you do it on the XT or on the 595, it often puts the shaping point in a different place from the original Via point.

5 the route will always recalculate if the map on the zumo is not identical to the map on basecamp.
Last edited by jfheath on 29 May 2020 06:38, edited 2 times in total.

sussamb
Posts: 621
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 10 times
Been liked: 114 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 590 - What the Manuals Do not Tell.

Post by sussamb »

4. happens on the Drive series also. Strangely it only happens one way, that is if you change a shaping point to a via point it doesn't move. I reported this to Garmin a while back, as I don't do it often it's no big deal but would be if you are constantly doing it.

As for rbentnail's problem my bet is also that he's selecting the end and not the start point.

jfheath
Posts: 161
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 41 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 590 - What the Manuals Do not Tell.

Post by jfheath »

For Possibility 1 above, Here is an example of what happens when you select the next destination when starting a route.

(Click the map to get an enlarged view)
Next Destination 2.jpg
The route has 3 Via Points - the orange flags. One is close to the start at Skipton - placed there to stop this error being made.
The other 2, working north west are at Ravenglass and at Girvan. The end point is at Fort William.
The route starts at the southern end and heads north.
Between the flags are some shaping points shown on this map as green or blue circles.
The blue dotted route is the route that was planned in Basecamp and which is loaded into the Zumo perfectly.

When you load the map and press Go - it asks you to 'Select Next Destination'.
It offers my start point Ilkley, Skipton, Ravenglass, Girvan, Fort WIlliam

If I select Girvan, the red line on the map is what happens to the route. The satnav makes its own way to Girvan and ignores every single shaping point and Via Point in order to get there. From Girvan onwards, the route is navigated properly.
It should really have asked 'At which point do you want to begin to follow your route'.

If you select the end point of the route in response to 'Select Next Destination' , then this is what happens.

Next Destination 4.jpg
My entire route from Basecamp is completely ignored, and instead I get a new one that is calculated by Zumo. The last few miles to Fort William coincide - but only because there isn't another way.

For my routes I usually place the start to be where I consider my route to start, not my actual starting point. I believe rbentnail did the same. That way the satnav will get me to that point, and I don't care which route it takes, and then starts to navigate my route from there.


The use of this Ordnance Survey Open Data map is perfectly legal - providing that I add the following statement:

Contains Ordnance Survey data © Crown copyright and database right 2010
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

sussamb
Posts: 621
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 10 times
Been liked: 114 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 590 - What the Manuals Do not Tell.

Post by sussamb »

Great explanation :D

rbentnail
Posts: 291
Joined: 18 Jun 2018 10:14
Location: North Carolina USA
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 51 times
United States of America

Re: Zumo 590 - What the Manuals Do not Tell.

Post by rbentnail »

Stu wrote:
28 May 2020 22:27
When you do this you should get a point in the route to select which one do you go for? the start point or the destination?
When I do this, despite having about 17 shaping points, I am given a choice of two points- the start and the end. That's it. If I pick the start point I get a dropdown menu with a wrench and an up/down arrow icon. EXACTLY the same thing happens if I pick the destination. There's a green flag next to the start point and a checkered flag next to the destination.

So I pick neither. If I press MAP it shows a preview. If I pick GO! it it then gives me a list of points. I pick the next one I have not reached yet, in this case the start point. It then makes a route different from the preview. As far as I can tell I am NOT picking the destination to route to.
Last edited by rbentnail on 29 May 2020 13:01, edited 1 time in total.
Russ B. Zumo 595,
2007 Yamaha FJR1300A, 128k and counting

rbentnail
Posts: 291
Joined: 18 Jun 2018 10:14
Location: North Carolina USA
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 51 times
United States of America

Re: Zumo 590 - What the Manuals Do not Tell.

Post by rbentnail »

Iris wrote:
28 May 2020 23:19
I do all of my route planning and editing on BaseCamp, not the unit.

Rbentnail, I always check to make sure my gps says ready to navigate before I activate the route. I have learned to wait till the gps has located satellites.
I noticed that if I don’t wait, it will ignore my route a re-calculate even if I have recalculation disabled.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Good point, I found that out too. My power cradle is wired directly to the battery so in this case the gps had been on without power interrupted for about 4 hrs.
Russ B. Zumo 595,
2007 Yamaha FJR1300A, 128k and counting

Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 364
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:38
Location: Hull, UK
Has liked: 165 times
Been liked: 77 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 590 - What the Manuals Do not Tell.

Post by Stu »

rbentnail wrote:
29 May 2020 12:47
Stu wrote:
28 May 2020 22:27
When you do this you should get a point in the route to select which one do you go for? the start point or the destination?
When I do this, despite having about 17 shaping points, I am given a choice of two points- the start and the end. That's it. If I pick the start point I get a dropdown menu with a wrench and an up/down arrow icon. EXACTLY the same thing happens if I pick the destination. There's a green flag next to the start point and a checkered flag next to the destination.

So I pick neither. If I press MAP it shows a preview. If I pick GO! it it then gives me a list of points. I pick the next one I have not reached yet, in this case the start point. It then makes a route different from the preview. As far as I can tell I am NOT picking the destination to route to.
You have to pick the start point otherwise you cancel the rest out but I suspect you know this already

Seems odd I'm guessing you have done a factory reset

jfheath
Posts: 161
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 41 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 590 - What the Manuals Do not Tell.

Post by jfheath »

I'll see if I can reproduce this. Mine is a 590 at the moment. I'll just see what that does on the 590 before I add 5 to it. I'll be back.

In the meantime - in Basecamp, can you take a look at the device transfer options, let us know what they are.
On the PC it is in Edit / Options / Device Transfer.
There are 3 (or 4) check boxes which may be blank or contain a tick. How are they set on yours?
And - I assume your default mode of transport / activity profile is set as motorcycle in Basecamp. What is the route option set to (faster, shorter, curvy)?

Also - what version of map do you have on the Zumo. And on the computer.
What version of software is loaded onto the Zumo.

John

rbentnail
Posts: 291
Joined: 18 Jun 2018 10:14
Location: North Carolina USA
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 51 times
United States of America

Re: Zumo 590 - What the Manuals Do not Tell.

Post by rbentnail »

jfheath wrote:
29 May 2020 16:45
I'll see if I can reproduce this. Mine is a 590 at the moment. I'll just see what that does on the 590 before I add 5 to it. I'll be back.

In the meantime - in Basecamp, can you take a look at the device transfer options, let us know what they are.
On the PC it is in Edit / Options / Device Transfer.
There are 3 (or 4) check boxes which may be blank or contain a tick. How are they set on yours?
Only the middle box "Always match route to the map on my device when transferring." is ticked.

And - I assume your default mode of transport / activity profile is set as motorcycle in Basecamp. What is the route option set to (faster, shorter, curvy)? No. The device is completely useless to me in the Motorcycling activity. Both the device and Base Camp are set to the Driving activity. Both Base Camp and the device are set to Faster Time.

You can see in this thread viewtopic.php?f=12&t=93 when I asked roughly the same questions. I've been trying for 2 yrs to get this damn thing to simply follow a premade route. The gist of that thread (with no real results, obviously) is that I am doing something wrong.


Also - what version of map do you have on the Zumo. And on the computer. What version of software is loaded onto the Zumo.
Base Camp 4.7.1 with Navigator North America NT 2021.1
On the device is Software Version 4.60 and Map: Full Coverage of North America 2021.10


John
Russ B. Zumo 595,
2007 Yamaha FJR1300A, 128k and counting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest