"Please insert battery"

For everything Garmin Zumo 660/665 related
T.Murphy
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Feb 2020 20:25
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 1 time

"Please insert battery"

Post by T.Murphy »

Hello all. Wonder if you could help me please. Just got a 660 off a friend. Well used and has been languishing in a drawer for a couple of years now with a duff battery. When I picked it up my friend had already bought and fitted a new battery to it. "All it wants is charging up Tim"

Sooo, have tried charging the unit with the new battery via the charging lead to the mains but nothing ...zilch. Dead as a dead parrot.

Then I fitted the unit, complete with new battery to the motorcycle cradle which was temp connected to a 12v battery and immediately the unit lit up with a message on the first screen saying to "please insert battery"

Anyone help please?

Thanks.

Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 421
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:38
Location: Hull, UK
Has liked: 180 times
Been liked: 84 times
Great Britain

Re: "Please insert battery"

Post by Stu »

It sounds to me like the unit is not recognising the battery for whatever reason :?

CollingsBob
Posts: 43
Joined: 28 Oct 2019 01:52
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Has liked: 81 times
Been liked: 12 times
Canada

Re: "Please insert battery"

Post by CollingsBob »

Last edited by CollingsBob on 10 Feb 2020 05:07, edited 1 time in total.
Certified JB Welder

T.Murphy
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Feb 2020 20:25
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 1 time

Re: "Please insert battery"

Post by T.Murphy »

CollingsBob wrote:
09 Feb 2020 23:38
Errr, wrong Garmin Bib, but thanks.👍

carolinarider09
Posts: 151
Joined: 21 Jul 2018 00:40
Location: South Carolina
Has liked: 9 times
Been liked: 22 times
United States of America

Re: "Please insert battery"

Post by carolinarider09 »

Ok,

I do have to ask the obvious, is the battery inserted correctly. I have not taken mine out in awhile but it might be possible.

The other possibility is the contacts in the unit are corroded. Maybe wiping them and the batteries contacts thoroughly might help.

Sometimes when I put my Garmin on its mount the XM antenna does not connect. Taking the unit off and wiping the contacts on the mount and the device solves the problem.

And finally, the battery may just have been a dud. Not normal but could be. If you have a volt meter you might be able to check to see if it has any charge at all.

CollingsBob
Posts: 43
Joined: 28 Oct 2019 01:52
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Has liked: 81 times
Been liked: 12 times
Canada

Re: "Please insert battery"

Post by CollingsBob »

Certified JB Welder

jfheath
Posts: 196
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 44 times
Great Britain

Re: "Please insert battery"

Post by jfheath »

There is a sensor in the housing that recognises when the battery cover is fitted. Make sure that the cover is seated properly.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest