Map errors!

Having Garmin zumo XT problems? there is loads of help and advice in this forum
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 693
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:38
Location: Hull, UK
Has liked: 320 times
Been liked: 156 times
Great Britain

Map errors!

Post by Stu »

I have just discovered a map error on my XT

While reading this thread viewtopic.php?t=1634 and doing some testing I was seeing what differences I would get compared to google maps with fastest route calculations

Anyway searching for and getting directions for York (UK) the XT shows this road as York and not the city!

Clicking on the road in google maps also shows it as York!

https://www.google.com/maps/place/54%C2 ... d-1.397733

Does anyone else's zumo do this?
Richard_R
Posts: 55
Joined: 24 Dec 2021 02:49
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 9 times
New Zealand

Re: Map errors!

Post by Richard_R »

That is a bit of a worry. Fortunately I have never come across an error that big so far.
jfheath
Posts: 990
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 85 times
Been liked: 255 times
Great Britain

Re: Map errors!

Post by jfheath »

Mine does exactly the same thing. And Basecamp. Clearly a mapping issue.

Now York have a traffic problem and seem to be addressing it by stealth. But getting the maps to show York to be 15 miles to the north west of its actual location is a tad sneaky. That is one heck of a Park and RIde journey.

A good road to ride, by the way. It is the old A1, runs parallel to the A1(M) . Brilliant for a traffic free motorcycle ride.
There is a similar parallel road alternative from near Ferrybridge to Scotch Corner.
ST1300A9 - Currently: Zumo 590/5 and Zumo XT - Previous: Zumo 550 and Zumo 660.
BTM03 module to provide Bluetooth link to Autocom. XT paired up to Android Smartphone
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 693
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:38
Location: Hull, UK
Has liked: 320 times
Been liked: 156 times
Great Britain

Re: Map errors!

Post by Stu »

@jfheath and anyone else

Feel free to report it to garmin to see if they correct it :lol:

I try to avoid motorways full stop so usually end up on some roads like those at some point
jfheath
Posts: 990
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 85 times
Been liked: 255 times
Great Britain

Re: Map errors!

Post by jfheath »

No. I won't send that one in ! I know where York is.

It would be my luck for them to fix that and not the other collection of issues that I have sent them.

John
ST1300A9 - Currently: Zumo 590/5 and Zumo XT - Previous: Zumo 550 and Zumo 660.
BTM03 module to provide Bluetooth link to Autocom. XT paired up to Android Smartphone
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 693
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:38
Location: Hull, UK
Has liked: 320 times
Been liked: 156 times
Great Britain

Re: Map errors!

Post by Stu »

Yeah I know where it is :lol:

I have reported it anyway in the hope it helps others :D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Google [Bot] and 0 guests