Zumo 396 Audio

For everything Garmin Zumo 390/395/396 related
UncleBucket54
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Oct 2019 19:19
Great Britain

Zumo 396 Audio

Post by UncleBucket54 »

I currently own a Garmin Zumo 395LM. To receive audio output from the unit, I have a pair of Custom Fit earplugs, which I plug into a jack socket at the bottom of the unit.

My questions are:
• Does the Garmin 396 have this jack socket?
• Do the high end Zumo units have this socket?


Thanks in advance.
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 692
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:38
Location: Hull, UK
Has liked: 320 times
Been liked: 156 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 396 Audio

Post by Stu »

not sure what the 396 has but the 590 and 595 has a mount with many wires for connection

https://www.getgeared.co.uk/garmin-zumo ... pnEALw_wcB
jfheath
Posts: 975
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 84 times
Been liked: 253 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 396 Audio

Post by jfheath »

Zumo 396 manual here....

http://static.garmin.com/pumac/zumo_396_OM_EN-US.pdf

I cannot see one.


BUT. The 395 manual does show an audio out jack

http://static.garmin.com/pumac/zumo_395_OM_EN.pdf




And the 595 manual which shows and labels the cable and connectors on Page number 1

http://static.garmin.com/pumac/zumo_595_OM_EN.pdf


The 590 has the same wired connections. I have one.
ST1300A9 - Currently: Zumo 590/5 and Zumo XT - Previous: Zumo 550 and Zumo 660.
BTM03 module to provide Bluetooth link to Autocom. XT paired up to Android Smartphone
Dusty ST
Posts: 48
Joined: 25 May 2018 15:55
Has liked: 13 times
Been liked: 10 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 396 Audio

Post by Dusty ST »

I have a 395 and a 396, there's no audio socket on the 396.
tojjer
Posts: 156
Joined: 10 Aug 2018 17:34
Location: Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Has liked: 25 times
Been liked: 20 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 396 Audio

Post by tojjer »

Confirmed, bluetooth only on the 396 for earphones, headsets etc.
Only two things you have access to on the back of the unit, is a rubber cover which pulls back to charge the unit or connect to a pc, and the larger rubber cover for the microsd card
Oop North John
Posts: 175
Joined: 27 Jul 2018 10:27
Has liked: 44 times
Been liked: 16 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 396 Audio

Post by Oop North John »

Garmin's motorcycle mount only shows a power input I think:

https://buy.garmin.com/en-GB/GB/p/pn/01 ... 1#overview

You could easily get a Bluetooth receiver and plug it into your ear buds, something like:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-5mm-Mini-W ... SwJnxctsi0

590 / 595 motorcycle mounts have a line out lead:

https://buy.garmin.com/en-GB/GB/p/148672#overview
pidjones
Posts: 50
Joined: 08 Jan 2019 11:21
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 4 times
United States of America

Re: Zumo 396 Audio

Post by pidjones »

Let me advise to NOT waste money on ebay Bluetooth receivers. One was DOA, another lasted about 300 miles. Buy on from Amazon (not one of their vendors) so you at least have a 30 day warranty. I ended up buying a Bluetooth receiver that is powered by my bike and boots up when it powers up.
CollingsBob
Subscriber
Posts: 99
Joined: 28 Oct 2019 01:52
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Has liked: 139 times
Been liked: 21 times
Canada

Re: Zumo 396 Audio

Post by CollingsBob »

I use a Cardo Freecom 1 to listen to music or phone calls from my iPhone and directions from the Garmin Zumo 396. The only issue that I havent been able to solve is equalizing the volume between phone and GPS. If the phone volume is correct (quite loud as I am partially deaf) then the GPS is excruciatingly loud to the point of distortion.
Battery life is quite good ...7-8 hours are no problem.
Certified JB Welder
Dusty ST
Posts: 48
Joined: 25 May 2018 15:55
Has liked: 13 times
Been liked: 10 times
Great Britain

Re: Zumo 396 Audio

Post by Dusty ST »

You can set volumes for GPS and phone independently.
Select volume then the spanner, you should see a volume slider for each output.
CollingsBob
Subscriber
Posts: 99
Joined: 28 Oct 2019 01:52
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Has liked: 139 times
Been liked: 21 times
Canada

Re: Zumo 396 Audio

Post by CollingsBob »

Dusty ST wrote: 30 Oct 2019 12:14 You can set volumes for GPS and phone independently.
Select volume then the spanner, you should see a volume slider for each output.
Is this done on the Cardo app?
Certified JB Welder

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests