It might be me

For any questions and tips and tricks on how to use Basecamp for PC then please post in this section.
JimKat2
Posts: 14
Joined: 06 Nov 2018 11:00
Has liked: 3 times
Great Britain

Re: It might be me

Post by JimKat2 »

sussamb wrote: 16 Nov 2018 19:17 Can you check the card. If data has been sent there should be a folder named Garmin with a .gpx file inside it. Is there?

Hi

Checked the card and yes there is \Garmin\GPX\route.gpx on the card. I am beginning to wonder if as it is a 346 that maybe this feature is not enabled on this level of device, and the card is treated just as a memory extension
sussamb
Posts: 1113
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 73 times
Been liked: 227 times
Great Britain

Re: It might be me

Post by sussamb »

Well it would be unusual for Garmin to change the way this works as it's been like that on every other device, but I'm struggling to find any other reason!
JimKat2
Posts: 14
Joined: 06 Nov 2018 11:00
Has liked: 3 times
Great Britain

Re: It might be me

Post by JimKat2 »

Ok. So I'm starting to get into this now :D :D

I think a combination of the re-format of the card and re-inserting it into the Zumo has linked it to the menu. Or, of course, it might have been me!

After having a good old play about with it I can now Send a route to the memory card, and Import it onto the device memory for use!

What is definite is that a new route on the memory card does not flag up on the Zumo UI when you power it up. But if you send to the device memory it does. The same applies to Way Points.

Now none of this is in the user Manual that I have printed off (on A3) and there is no reference to Importing data to the Zumo 365.

So in order to add to the group knowledge and maybe stop just one other person having the same issues as I have I will add some more info.


OK so we start here at the Home Screen
Zumo01.jpg
Open Apps

Zumo2.jpg
Open Trip Planner


Zumo3.jpg

Then Open the Sub Menu using the Icon in the top left hand side that looks like 3 horizontal bars.

Going to have to add another post as it seems I have run out of space on this one
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
JimKat2
Posts: 14
Joined: 06 Nov 2018 11:00
Has liked: 3 times
Great Britain

Re: It might be me

Post by JimKat2 »

Having opened the Sub Menu
You get this
Zumo4.jpg
Open Import
Zumo5.jpg
Check the box of the route you want to import and open using the blue Import button
Zumo6.jpg


And there you have the route ready to GO
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
JimKat2
Posts: 14
Joined: 06 Nov 2018 11:00
Has liked: 3 times
Great Britain

Re: It might be me

Post by JimKat2 »

And just to prove (to myself) that it wasn't a fluke

I did it again this time with a new route that had not been on the Zumo before
Zumo7.jpg
Zumo8.jpg
Zumo9.jpg
Zumo10.jpg

So a big thank you for your help, just being able to bounce some thoughts about and get a "have you tried this......" response is often enough to open up a puzzle!

Hope the above post's don't come across as "Trying to teach an elderly relative to suck eggs", just me documenting the conclusion to the original question.

I have a couple of other bit's I need to look at about up to date maps and this comms error between the device and BC.

But I'll save that for another day!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
sussamb
Posts: 1113
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 73 times
Been liked: 227 times
Great Britain

Re: It might be me

Post by sussamb »

Glad it's sorted :D
advnzer
Posts: 76
Joined: 18 Aug 2018 01:30
Location: New Zealand
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 8 times
New Zealand

Re: It might be me

Post by advnzer »

just check that the folder structure on the card is EXACTLY the same as the device.I didnt hink there was a routes folder????
sussamb
Posts: 1113
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 73 times
Been liked: 227 times
Great Britain

Re: It might be me

Post by sussamb »

Don't think he said there was?
advnzer
Posts: 76
Joined: 18 Aug 2018 01:30
Location: New Zealand
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 8 times
New Zealand

Re: It might be me

Post by advnzer »

sussamb wrote: 18 Nov 2018 08:13 Don't think he said there was?
\Garmin\GPX\route.gpx my mistake
rbentnail
Posts: 437
Joined: 18 Jun 2018 10:14
Location: North Carolina USA
Has liked: 33 times
Been liked: 88 times
United States of America

Re: It might be me

Post by rbentnail »

Glad you got it worked out!
Russ B. Zumo 595,
2007 & 2013 USA Yamaha FJR1300A

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests