issue loading from base camp

Having Garmin zumo XT problems? there is loads of help and advice in this forum
rufasim
Been liked: 7 times
United States of America

issue loading from base camp

Post by rufasim »

A little back ground. This is my first year with a zumo. I have yet to have any issue at all till now. I just completed the latest up grade just a couple of weeks ago. I make my routes in base camp, then down load them directly onto zumo. both settings are set to fastest time.

When I load my route into zumo, the milage and some times times are off. Last week the milage in bc said 419, but on zumo it was something in the600 miles. We loaded the map into my friends goldwing nav and that went fine. He led the trip and about halfway through the milage was perfect on my zumo compare to his nav. I rode in the back and used zumo and all was fine. matched every road except 1. But that led back to where we eventually went
This week I made 2 routes for tomorrows ride. 1being 106 miles, the other 144. When I load it into zumo they are showing 181 miles and 236. I looked at the maps in zumo and they are not following my shaping points. they would stop mid rout and make a u turn to take me down another route in the opposite direction thus causing the increase in milage. Any idea on whats going on?
rbentnail
Has liked: 96 times
Been liked: 202 times
United States of America

Re: issue loading from base camp

Post by rbentnail »

Apply more shaping points to make the route stick to your plan. The XT seems (to me) to sometimes require more points than previous models.
Russ B. Zumo 595 & XT
2007 & 2013 USA Yamaha FJR1300A
rufasim
United States of America

Post by rufasim »

I did add more shaping points. What was happening was it made me complete a u turn to go to another direction onto a road I did not plan.I simply made uturn an avoidance and everything is perfect.
rufasim
United States of America

Post by rufasim »