New 346 issues

For everything Garmin Zumo 390/395/396 related
sprint
Posts: 44
Joined: 20 Aug 2018 18:40
Been liked: 1 time
Great Britain

New 346 issues

Post by sprint »

Have just purchased a new 346, functionally the same as the 396.

On receipt the battery was totally flat, but does operate from the USB cable. Unit is going back for a replacement as it is either a duff battery or somebody has previously used it.

However, the second issue was when I looked to update the maps and software. It immediately recommended that I needed to instal additional memory in the form of a 8GB micro card, see attached.

The indication being that the units are being manufactured with very little or insufficient on-board memory? Has anybody else come across this problem? It seems ridiculous that Garmin are scrimping on basic on-board memory?

Does anybody know what on-board memory the units are shipped with?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 694
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:38
Location: Hull, UK
Has liked: 320 times
Been liked: 156 times
Great Britain

Re: New 346 issues

Post by Stu »

Where did you buy it from?

its a well known issue in the 590 for battery issues see here for a solution viewtopic.php?f=12&t=2
tojjer
Posts: 156
Joined: 10 Aug 2018 17:34
Location: Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Has liked: 25 times
Been liked: 20 times
Great Britain

Re: New 346 issues

Post by tojjer »

I had exactly the same with my 346. I've just plugged mine into the pc, and it shows internal storage is 7.02GB.
I put a 32GB microSD card in and it's updated fine since.
I agree though, not what you expect to see on the first update on a brand new machine.
sprint
Posts: 44
Joined: 20 Aug 2018 18:40
Been liked: 1 time
Great Britain

Re: New 346 issues

Post by sprint »

Thanks for the replies.

Unit was bought in the UK. Don't want to name them at this stage as they have been very happy to replace the unit.

I believe that the 590's have a seperate replaceable battery?

Will wait for the replacement, I do have a micro card I can put in, but I am a bit annoyed that Garmin are being so unnecessarily mean with their onboard memory such that they are expecting customers to have to increase it at their own cost out of the box. The extra cost to the manufactures at the manufacturing stage is literally pence.
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 694
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:38
Location: Hull, UK
Has liked: 320 times
Been liked: 156 times
Great Britain

Re: New 346 issues

Post by Stu »

Yes the 590 has a replaceable battery

I'm guessing the 346 is a sealed unit then?
sussamb
Posts: 1282
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 106 times
Been liked: 248 times
Great Britain

Re: New 346 issues

Post by sussamb »

Phones, cameras etc are generally the same. Companies can save a lot over multiple units by limiting memory.
tojjer
Posts: 156
Joined: 10 Aug 2018 17:34
Location: Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Has liked: 25 times
Been liked: 20 times
Great Britain

Re: New 346 issues

Post by tojjer »

Stu wrote: 21 Aug 2018 07:16 Yes the 590 has a replaceable battery

I'm guessing the 346 is a sealed unit then?

There's 10 screws on the back of the unit, so you may be able to get at it that way to change it, but there is no quick way to get at the battery
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 694
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:38
Location: Hull, UK
Has liked: 320 times
Been liked: 156 times
Great Britain

Re: New 346 issues

Post by Stu »

tojjer wrote: 21 Aug 2018 16:57
Stu wrote: 21 Aug 2018 07:16 Yes the 590 has a replaceable battery

I'm guessing the 346 is a sealed unit then?

There's 10 screws on the back of the unit, so you may be able to get at it that way to change it, but there is no quick way to get at the battery
I would take that as a no then!

You don't want to be removing the back cover
tojjer
Posts: 156
Joined: 10 Aug 2018 17:34
Location: Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Has liked: 25 times
Been liked: 20 times
Great Britain

Re: New 346 issues

Post by tojjer »

Stu wrote: 21 Aug 2018 17:03
tojjer wrote: 21 Aug 2018 16:57
Stu wrote: 21 Aug 2018 07:16 Yes the 590 has a replaceable battery

I'm guessing the 346 is a sealed unit then?

There's 10 screws on the back of the unit, so you may be able to get at it that way to change it, but there is no quick way to get at the battery
I would take that as a no then!

You don't want to be removing the back cover
My thoughts exactly

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests