Partial screen freeze up.

For everything Garmin Zumo 390/395/396 related
Purrtec
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Mar 2024 14:28
United States of America

Partial screen freeze up.

Post by Purrtec »

My 396 speed icon and trip arrival time freezes up intermittently. Is there a way to reboot the system?
jfheath
Posts: 2257
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 280 times
Been liked: 610 times
Great Britain

Re: Partial screen freeze up.

Post by jfheath »

Sorry I do not have your Zumo model

But on the XT there is an option under Settings ->Device ->Reset

On the 590 and 595 and XT there is an option in a hidden system menu.

View Map -> Speed button -> Long press the circular speed (10 secs) -> Clear All User Data

Worth a try ?

Today, I discovered something really important. I found another way that doesn't work.
Purrtec
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Mar 2024 14:28
United States of America

Re: Partial screen freeze up.

Post by Purrtec »

Thanks, will give it a try and let you know if it works.
jfheath
Posts: 2257
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 280 times
Been liked: 610 times
Great Britain

Re: Partial screen freeze up.

Post by jfheath »

Did this work @Purrtec ?

Or have you found a way that does work ?

Today, I discovered something really important. I found another way that doesn't work.
Purrtec
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Mar 2024 14:28
United States of America

Re: Partial screen freeze up.

Post by Purrtec »

To,jfheath,
My 396 has the same settings as the XT. I did the reset and so far I haven’t had a freeze up, but it was an intermittent problem.
It seems to have worked to this point. I will repost if it happens again. Thank you, purrtec.