Mileage issues

For everything Garmin Zumo 450/550 related
Pockets
Posts: 45
Joined: 05 May 2019 21:42
Location: Doncaster
Been liked: 2 times
Great Britain

Mileage issues

Post by Pockets »

Hi, Can anyone explain why my 550 is giving a different mileage than google maps? I have a holiday home in Scotland that is 173 miles from my home, thats the same as Google maps, and my car mileage. But my 550 insists its 135 miles, that is the same for a journey both ways. The 550 comes up with exactly the same route as Google and my car satnav, I’ve checked and they are both recording in miles ( not klm). Not sure what’s going on, but any suggestions would be appreciated.
User avatar
Moose
Posts: 182
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 12:11
Location: Toms River New Jersey
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 21 times
United States of America

Re: Mileage issues

Post by Moose »

they measure as the crow flys your arrival time will reflect time of arrival though
sussamb
Posts: 1325
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 118 times
Been liked: 257 times
Great Britain

Re: Mileage issues

Post by sussamb »

It shouldn't, it should show the route mileage. Does it do it for any other route or just this one?
Fallguy67
Posts: 44
Joined: 21 Oct 2018 19:37
Location: Paris, TN USA
Has liked: 31 times
Been liked: 4 times
United States of America

Re: Mileage issues

Post by Fallguy67 »

Moose wrote: 20 Apr 2020 23:55 they measure as the crow flys your arrival time will reflect time of arrival though
I believe that the as the crow files distance is when searching through a list of POIs. When on a route it should show the actually distance to destination.
sussamb
Posts: 1325
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 118 times
Been liked: 257 times
Great Britain

Re: Mileage issues

Post by sussamb »

That's correct.
Pockets
Posts: 45
Joined: 05 May 2019 21:42
Location: Doncaster
Been liked: 2 times
Great Britain

Re: Mileage issues

Post by Pockets »

Thanks for the replies, Fallguy67 looks like the winner, if I look at my favourites list the mileage is 135 miles but if I scroll using the square button it then tells me a”Arrive in 173miles” so that looks like the answer. I’ve got about 15 favourites on my list and everyone of them tells the same story, the nearer the destination the less the difference in mileage, so it must be as Fallgut67 explains it’s as the crow fly’s on the favourites screen but the true mileage when you scroll into the menu.
Thanks again everyone problem solved.
Fallguy67
Posts: 44
Joined: 21 Oct 2018 19:37
Location: Paris, TN USA
Has liked: 31 times
Been liked: 4 times
United States of America

Re: Mileage issues

Post by Fallguy67 »

Glad you got it figured out. My understanding on the reason for this is, it would take to much time/computing power to figure the exact route on every choice when you have a list up.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests