XT Routes & Trips

Having Garmin zumo XT problems? there is loads of help and advice in this forum
HMA14
Been liked: 4 times
United States of America

XT Routes & Trips

Post by HMA14 »

Hello all: I'm a Land Surveyor and am proficient with many different mapping devices and software, but this thing is giving me a headache! I want to follow a route from a .gpx file. I can get the file into Zumo, when I turn it on I get the "Route contains...." image attached. I have hit both "Split" and "convert". I then get the "cannot..." image attached. I also get the "Detailed maps...." and "cannot unlock maps" error message. Under "saved tracks" the route is split up into 50 -60 sections that seem to in order of proximity to current location, not in linear order. Can someone please help. I just want to transfer the .gpx file and have it show up as one continuous route. Please help! Thanks in advance.
Attachments
20240401_170415.jpg
20240401_170415.jpg (251.35 KiB) Viewed 249 times
20240401_170415.jpg
20240401_170415.jpg (251.35 KiB) Viewed 249 times
20240401_170121.jpg
20240401_170121.jpg (305.48 KiB) Viewed 249 times
jfheath
Has liked: 282 times
Been liked: 615 times
Great Britain

Re: XT Routes & Trips

Post by jfheath »

Welcome to the forums.

Two things ...

1. It is probable that there is an issue with the gpx file that you have.
where did you get it from - or how was it created ie what software

2. The cannot unlock maps message is weird. Is this a brand new Zumo XT, or second hand ? which maps are loaded, do you know ? I doubt that you will get anywhere with loading routes until the maps are sorted.

On the XT select system and the map section Mymaps. see if any are listed, what they are and which are ticked..

Today, I discovered something really important. I found another way that doesn't work.
HMA14
United States of America

Post by HMA14 »

1. It is probable that there is an issue with the gpx file that you have.