Maps not updating on a 595

For everything Garmin Zumo 590/595 related
Oop North John
Posts: 315
Joined: 27 Jul 2018 10:27
Location: UK
Has liked: 88 times
Been liked: 48 times
Great Britain

Maps not updating on a 595

Post by Oop North John »

So after installing the latest Garmin Express and then installing CN EU 2025.10 NTU on my 590 the 595 I own doesn't show that there's an update for the 2024.20 maps on it, same laptop and USB lead :?

Any ideas on how to persuade the 595 to update to the latest maps?

Edit 1 - tired another cable with the same result.
sussamb
Posts: 1758
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 329 times
Been liked: 360 times
Great Britain

Re: Maps not updating on a 595

Post by sussamb »

Try deleting the 595 from Express then add it back
Oop North John
Posts: 315
Joined: 27 Jul 2018 10:27
Location: UK
Has liked: 88 times
Been liked: 48 times
Great Britain

Re: Maps not updating on a 595

Post by Oop North John »

sussamb wrote: 03 Mar 2024 19:55 Try deleting the 595 from Express then add it back
Unfortunately that hasn't worked.

An oddity I see is that the 595 icon in Express (7.20.0.00 but also in previous versions) doesn't look like a 595 when the other products do look like they do in reality.
sussamb
Posts: 1758
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 329 times
Been liked: 360 times
Great Britain

Re: Maps not updating on a 595

Post by sussamb »

Well provided Express recognises it the icon won't make any difference. May be worth contacting Garmin ... 0808 238 0000 or https://support.garmin.com/en-GB/?conta ... tab=topics (scroll down to bottom for options)
rbentnail
Subscriber
Posts: 913
Joined: 18 Jun 2018 10:14
Location: North Carolina USA
Has liked: 99 times
Been liked: 214 times
United States of America

Re: Maps not updating on a 595

Post by rbentnail »

Wait a couple days and try again. I've had this happen on both a 595 and an XT.
Russ B. Zumo 595 & XT
2007 & 2013 USA Yamaha FJR1300A
biz
Posts: 102
Joined: 08 Jun 2018 09:45
Location: Highland Perthshire, UK
Has liked: 21 times
Been liked: 21 times
Great Britain

Re: Maps not updating on a 595

Post by biz »

I've updated three 590 (all with 595 firmware) to the new maps happily, but I'm still on GE 7.19.0.0 (which GE claims is up to date, so maybe there's a problem with 7.20 as I'm not being offered it...)
rbentnail
Subscriber
Posts: 913
Joined: 18 Jun 2018 10:14
Location: North Carolina USA
Has liked: 99 times
Been liked: 214 times
United States of America

Re: Maps not updating on a 595

Post by rbentnail »

biz wrote: 04 Mar 2024 10:39 I've updated three 590 (all with 595 firmware) to the new maps happily, but I'm still on GE 7.19.0.0 (which GE claims is up to date, so maybe there's a problem with 7.20 as I'm not being offered it...)
Exactly. In the past, folks would post about an available update but my devices wouldn't acknowledge it for several days afterwards. Be patient, try once per day and don't stress. It will come along eventually.
Russ B. Zumo 595 & XT
2007 & 2013 USA Yamaha FJR1300A
Oop North John
Posts: 315
Joined: 27 Jul 2018 10:27
Location: UK
Has liked: 88 times
Been liked: 48 times
Great Britain

Re: Maps not updating on a 595

Post by Oop North John »

I called up Garmin UK support and apparently my 595, bought second-hand, has a "travel edition" maps ie worldwide and so the CN EU maps are not the only ones when I update it, so it'll be a different update to the 590 etc I have.

Looked on Basecamp and see no difference between the CN and the 595's maps, but a quick google seems to say the Travel Edition can download other maps for free. Never heard of that before!
sussamb
Posts: 1758
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 329 times
Been liked: 360 times
Great Britain

Re: Maps not updating on a 595

Post by sussamb »

Correct but you can only have 2 of the 5 (I think) installed at one time. To install another you have to delete one.
biz
Posts: 102
Joined: 08 Jun 2018 09:45
Location: Highland Perthshire, UK
Has liked: 21 times
Been liked: 21 times
Great Britain

Re: Maps not updating on a 595

Post by biz »

sussamb wrote: 11 Mar 2024 17:54 Correct but you can only have 2 of the 5 (I think) installed at one time. To install another you have to delete one.
My 590 (with 595 firmware) isn't a Travel Edition (in fact, I've never heard of those!) but I have 3 regions (Europe, North America, Australia and New Zealand) installed on it.