Speed limit in France

User avatar
kernowing
Posts: 267
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:50
Location: North Cornwall
Has liked: 91 times
Been liked: 47 times
Great Britain

Speed limit in France

Post by kernowing »

Has anyone been using their GPS in France since the speed limit reduction in July? I have 2019.1 on BC and Zumo 660 and just wondered if routes are calculated with the reduced speed limit? Does the 90kph limit now show as 80kph on the GPS?
Cheers, Pete.
2007 GL1800 Goldwing
2018 Triumph Speedmaster 1200
Zumo 660LM
sussamb
Posts: 1113
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 73 times
Been liked: 227 times
Great Britain

Re: Speed limit in France

Post by sussamb »

Yep, the new limits are in the latest map. Was there just after they changed and a few times since.
User avatar
kernowing
Posts: 267
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:50
Location: North Cornwall
Has liked: 91 times
Been liked: 47 times
Great Britain

Re: Speed limit in France

Post by kernowing »

Thanks for that. Sounds like the new limits are not too popular with the locals :o
Do you have the "Safety" camera alerts active when you're driving there?
2007 GL1800 Goldwing
2018 Triumph Speedmaster 1200
Zumo 660LM
User avatar
Sleuth
Posts: 118
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 10:52
Location: Antwerp
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 15 times
Belgium

Re: Speed limit in France

Post by Sleuth »

I was recently in France, via the coast road from Belgium to Calais. I have the 2019.20 map set on the Zumo 595 with an active Safety Camera subscription.

It showed the zones where the cameras were.
GPS: BMW Navigator VI & IV
Maps: Europe NTU 2021.10 & Europe NT 2020.20
Software: Basecamp (4.7.1) & Mapsource (6.16.3)
Computer: PC (Windows 10 Pro)
Motorcycle: BMW R1200GSA (2020)
sussamb
Posts: 1113
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 73 times
Been liked: 227 times
Great Britain

Re: Speed limit in France

Post by sussamb »

kernowing wrote: 13 Oct 2018 07:38 Thanks for that. Sounds like the new limits are not too popular with the locals :o
Do you have the "Safety" camera alerts active when you're driving there?
Yep, but I use the ones from PGPSW not Garmin ones.
User avatar
alan sh
Posts: 84
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 14:40
Location: Rochdale
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 21 times
Great Britain

Re: Speed limit in France

Post by alan sh »

I thought it was illegal to have camera detection active in France
Alan
Owner of 3 Zumo 660's, one 346 and 2 bikes
User avatar
kernowing
Posts: 267
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:50
Location: North Cornwall
Has liked: 91 times
Been liked: 47 times
Great Britain

Re: Speed limit in France

Post by kernowing »

alan sh wrote: 14 Oct 2018 22:13 I thought it was illegal to have camera detection active in France
Yup, it is, I never have mine active, just wondered if others did or not.
2007 GL1800 Goldwing
2018 Triumph Speedmaster 1200
Zumo 660LM
Oop North John
Posts: 164
Joined: 27 Jul 2018 10:27
Has liked: 41 times
Been liked: 13 times
Great Britain

Re: Speed limit in France

Post by Oop North John »

alan sh wrote: 14 Oct 2018 22:13 I thought it was illegal to have camera detection active in France
I think that you can't have a warning of a specific location, but can be warned of the area the camera is in. Don't know how big the area is and why they came up with their fudge.
sussamb
Posts: 1113
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 73 times
Been liked: 227 times
Great Britain

Re: Speed limit in France

Post by sussamb »

Yes legally you can be warned of danger areas, some of which may or may not have a camera. The problem for those who speed are a new breed of cameras introduced in France which are unmanned but moveable cameras which seem to pop up everywhere.
tojjer
Posts: 156
Joined: 10 Aug 2018 17:34
Location: Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Has liked: 25 times
Been liked: 20 times
Great Britain

Re: Speed limit in France

Post by tojjer »

Oh blimey, I'm off over there in June next year for a weeks guided motorcycle tour
I take it we can use the sat navs but they need to have the camera alerts disabled?
Is it true also, that you can't use bluetooth headsets connected to your phone? I presume they can be connected to the navs for directions?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests