Having Garmin zumo XT problems? there is loads of help and advice in this forum
Thornton
Has liked: 10 times
Been liked: 1 time
Great Britain

Problem uploading a specific route to Zumo XT

Post by Thornton »

First post...

I've been using Basecamp for a few years, and successfully using my saved routes on both Garmin Zumo XT and BMW Nav VI devices.

My preferred method of transporting the routes to the XT is to export the route GPX from Basecamp and then using Onedrive to access the stored GPX from my phone, send the file to Garmin Drive. This has worked literally hundreds of times.

However, there's been a couple of routes that did not work. They appeared to transfer but never actually arrived in the Trip Planner on the XT. I have always found a workaround but I wondered what the real issue is... hence this post.

The particular route I'm struggling with this time is 157 miles long, with 17 via points and 120 "points" (whatever they really are?), so not complicated.

If I split the route into two, it loads on the XT without any problem, so it seems like it could be a size issue - although I have used many more complex and longer routes in the past?

The route also loads on to my BMW Nav VI without any issues.

Any advice would be appreciated.
danham
Has liked: 87 times
Been liked: 83 times
United States of America

Re: Problem uploading a specific route to Zumo XT

Post by danham »

Can you share the route with us? I'm assuming "points" means shaping points and 120 is a LOT for a 157-mile route. By way of comparison I just looked at a fairly complex 240-mile route in my collection with lots of twists and turns in the WV mountains and it has about 13 shaping points.

Have a look in Basecamp and see if you really need all those shaping points to stay on-route. Also check in BC to see if any of those points are slightly off the road or causing "spaghetti loops" (the route doubles back on itself).

-dan