Where to? menu

Having Garmin zumo XT problems? there is loads of help and advice in this forum
waspanman
Posts: 25
Joined: 29 Dec 2021 21:55
Been liked: 4 times
Great Britain

Where to? menu

Post by waspanman »

I have just had a long series of conversations with Garmin about various issues with my XT. The last map upload (2024.2) failed during the transfer,
leaving me with "no maps found" messages and the unit inoperable. after contacting Garmin, over the course of a week, retrying all the things I have done before (this is not my first map download issue), we finally got the unit to work, though the cannot unlock maps message still showed which required another reinstall to finally get rid of it.
Whilst in conversation with various tech reps at Garmin, I mentioned the issue with the "where to?" menu and the "Tip" at the bottom of the menu screen, which infers that you can reorder the menu by touching and holding an icon and dragging it to a new position.
I never use the "Home" button and would like to move "Petrol Stations" to the top of the menu page, and relegate Trip Advisor, Foursquare, and iOverlander to the bottom.
Has anyone been able to make this "Tip" work?
Garmin seem to think I have misinterpreted the instruction.
Attachments
905422[1].png
905422[1].png (99.6 KiB) Viewed 758 times
FrankB
Posts: 432
Joined: 10 Aug 2020 07:22
Has liked: 97 times
Been liked: 130 times
Netherlands

Re: Where to? menu

Post by FrankB »

Tap and hold the item you want to move. After a few seconds the orange background changes. (Keep holding!) You can now move the item to the desired location. When you are finished moving you can release it.

Dont know if you have an Android phone, but reordering resembles what you do with an Android.
waspanman
Posts: 25
Joined: 29 Dec 2021 21:55
Been liked: 4 times
Great Britain

Re: Where to? menu

Post by waspanman »

Thanks for the advise
finally got this feature to work, the screen is very sensitive to touch, just the least amount of pressure to move the icons.
Happy at last
waspanman
Posts: 25
Joined: 29 Dec 2021 21:55
Been liked: 4 times
Great Britain

Re: Where to? menu

Post by waspanman »

The Apps menu has the same "Tip" icon but having mastered the where to? menu, I have to report failure on the Apps screen, I don't seem to be able to make the icons move as indicated.
FrankB
Posts: 432
Joined: 10 Aug 2020 07:22
Has liked: 97 times
Been liked: 130 times
Netherlands

Re: Where to? menu

Post by FrankB »

Just checked it. It indeed works the same way as the Where To.

Dont be offended about my next remark, it's something I experience myself at times. I have a very 'dry skin'. I can put my hands on a glass surface without leaving a trace. Other people will leave greasy stains. But I do often have problems using touch screens, because my movements are not recognized due to my dry skin. Applying some hand-cream usually helps.
rbentnail
Subscriber
Posts: 913
Joined: 18 Jun 2018 10:14
Location: North Carolina USA
Has liked: 99 times
Been liked: 215 times
United States of America

Re: Where to? menu

Post by rbentnail »

FrankB wrote: 12 Nov 2023 22:12 Just checked it. It indeed works the same way as the Where To.

Dont be offended about my next remark, it's something I experience myself at times. I have a very 'dry skin'. I can put my hands on a glass surface without leaving a trace. Other people will leave greasy stains. But I do often have problems using touch screens, because my movements are not recognized due to my dry skin. Applying some hand-cream usually helps.
Ditto here. I often work with all kinds of petroleum products and they dry my skin badly. Sometimes I have a hard time getting touchscreens to work, especially now with cooler weather making it worse.

The menu I'd really like to re-do is Where To/Categories. It's all wrong for me but the drag & drop doesn't work there for me.
Russ B. Zumo 595 & XT
2007 & 2013 USA Yamaha FJR1300A