Garmin POS

For everything Garmin Zumo 390/395/396 related
Unhappy
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jul 2023 05:20
Been liked: 4 times
Canada

Garmin POS

Post by Unhappy »

Well after 10 years with my old Zumo 550 I upgraded to a 396 it arrived on Thursday and today I,m sending it back. The unit is fully charged and out of the cradle and keeps shutting down. Halfway through typing an address it will shut down,then you have to power it up and start all over again. No it does not go into sleep mode I shut that off. POS I tell you. Tomtom time
jfheath
Posts: 2514
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 326 times
Been liked: 689 times
Great Britain

Re: Garmin POS

Post by jfheath »

This could happen if you haven't charged it sufficiently.

By 'sufficiently' I mean for 24 hours, using a charger or wall socket that is rated at 2Amps or more.

If you are using the Garmin charger - the one that came with your 550 - it probably isn't enough. Mine (I still have it) is rated at only 1A.
Have owned Zumo 550, 660 == Now have Zumo XT2, XT, 595, 590, Headache
Use Basecamp (mainly), MyRouteApp (sometimes)

Links: Zumo 590/5 & BC . . . Zumo XT & BC
Unhappy
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jul 2023 05:20
Been liked: 4 times
Canada

Re: Garmin POS

Post by Unhappy »

Well sir my hats off to you. I read your advise and did exactly was you said. 24 hours plug into my I-Pad charger with the Garmin cable into the wall and it works likes it’s supposed to. Thank you