Connecting to harley

For everything Garmin Zumo 390/395/396 related
Widephil
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Feb 2023 09:48
Wales

Connecting to harley

Post by Widephil »

Hi, sorry total newbie and rubbish with electrics. I have bought my 1st ever sat nav as I'm going around Europe in summer. Its a 396. The lead that's supplied has a small black box between main power line to the mount and red/black wires other side. Do I need to fuse it near battery.
And can I connect red black wires to a similar connection allowing me to power it from my battery tender lead ?
MSTOCK27370
Posts: 204
Joined: 05 May 2020 13:02
Has liked: 13 times
Been liked: 33 times
United States of America

Re: Connecting to harley

Post by MSTOCK27370 »

Red connects to positive. Black connects to negative. I pretty sure I read that the box is already internally fused and adding a fuse isn’t necessary. I’ll try to verify that.
Michael S.
Trinity, North Carolina
Zumo 590LM, 396LM, 550 BMW R1100RT, R100, R60/6
MSTOCK27370
Posts: 204
Joined: 05 May 2020 13:02
Has liked: 13 times
Been liked: 33 times
United States of America

Re: Connecting to harley

Post by MSTOCK27370 »

This is from the online manual for the 396 on the Garmin website.

(2)
12 to 24 Vdc system power (red)
NOTE: The red system power cable may include an in-line fuse on some device models. Cables without an inline fuse are protected internally.
Michael S.
Trinity, North Carolina
Zumo 590LM, 396LM, 550 BMW R1100RT, R100, R60/6
Widephil
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Feb 2023 09:48
Wales

Re: Connecting to harley

Post by Widephil »

Ah so that little black box is a surge protection thing then and there fore doesn't require any additional fuse... I guess if it needed a fuse it would of been supplied in its cable
MSTOCK27370
Posts: 204
Joined: 05 May 2020 13:02
Has liked: 13 times
Been liked: 33 times
United States of America

Re: Connecting to harley

Post by MSTOCK27370 »

Widephil wrote: 01 Mar 2023 08:04 Ah so that little black box is a surge protection thing then and there fore doesn't require any additional fuse... I guess if it needed a fuse it would of been supplied in its cable
Based on what Garmin says there, it sounds like that box is also voltage converter, changing 12 volt input to 24 volts for the GPS.
Or, maybe they just mean that the input can be up to 24 volts, not sure.
Michael S.
Trinity, North Carolina
Zumo 590LM, 396LM, 550 BMW R1100RT, R100, R60/6
Fxwheels
Posts: 231
Joined: 13 Oct 2021 13:30
Has liked: 26 times
Been liked: 29 times
United States of America

Re: Connecting to harley

Post by Fxwheels »

In my and some other's case, connecting directly to the battery or using a 12v socket won't bring enough power and it will send a message or/and will use up the 396's battery power until it'll go to "battery save mode" in which case it won't be possible to see the screen in the bright daylight.
I connected to 2.0 usb port using a cable (without the cradle). This solved it. It may be possible to use the cradle with a usb port but I didn't bother to convert it.