How do I best clear routes available for import in temp.gpx?

Having Garmin zumo XT problems? there is loads of help and advice in this forum
jfheath
Posts: 2520
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 328 times
Been liked: 690 times
Great Britain

Re: How do I best clear routes available for import in temp.gpx?

Post by jfheath »

I've long been an advocate of using internal storage and the Basecamp transfer and import technique.

But it does seem that this method is introducing issues - still only strong suspicions though.

Just make sure that you know how to recover from the 'No data available' message which prevents you from importing Waypoints into Favourites or Saved locations.

If you don't know what I mean, delete them all and then try to reimport them ......
Have owned Zumo 550, 660 == Now have Zumo XT2, XT, 595, 590, Headache
Use Basecamp (mainly), MyRouteApp (sometimes)

Links: Zumo 590/5 & BC . . . Zumo XT & BC
Fxwheels
Posts: 231
Joined: 13 Oct 2021 13:30
Has liked: 26 times
Been liked: 29 times
United States of America

Re: How do I best clear routes available for import in temp.gpx?

Post by Fxwheels »

Just recently I deleted the temp.gpx file in order to clean out the Nav. I did not restart it after that and when tried to move new routes from Basecamp I got en error message something like "cannot load no connection found" or in this context. I had to transfer the routes to the laptop and then move from there into GPX folder in Zumo. After that the Temp file got created.
sussamb
Posts: 1762
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 332 times
Been liked: 360 times
Great Britain

Re: How do I best clear routes available for import in temp.gpx?

Post by sussamb »

Temp file is created when you send routes from BaseCamp. Why you couldn't send routes from your PC is a mystery
jfheath
Posts: 2520
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 328 times
Been liked: 690 times
Great Britain

Re: How do I best clear routes available for import in temp.gpx?

Post by jfheath »

Sometimes either Basecamp or the PC breaks the connection with the Zumo. I don't know the exact circumstances, but it after they have been connected together for quite a while and there has been no activity. Usually if I leave it and go and do something else - come back and I have to reconnect.

It does this silently, but you can tell because the left hand pane doesn't contain the Zumo folders.
Have owned Zumo 550, 660 == Now have Zumo XT2, XT, 595, 590, Headache
Use Basecamp (mainly), MyRouteApp (sometimes)

Links: Zumo 590/5 & BC . . . Zumo XT & BC