"There was an error calculating this route"

For any questions and tips and tricks on how to use Basecamp for PC then please post in this section.
CollingsBob
Subscriber
Posts: 84
Joined: 28 Oct 2019 01:52
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Has liked: 133 times
Been liked: 20 times
Canada

"There was an error calculating this route"

Post by CollingsBob »

Whenever I try to create a route in Basecamp I get "There was an error calculating this route" with a red bar...The map is reasonably up to date - it's a version of the map that worked up until I updated the computer recently.
Anyone got any suggestions?
The correct map for the region is selected...
Certified JB Welder
sussamb
Posts: 1141
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 79 times
Been liked: 231 times
Great Britain

Re: "There was an error calculating this route"

Post by sussamb »

Happens occasionally to me if the route is a very complicated one with lots of points and/or long. Does yours perhaps meet that description?

If not and it's only happened since you updated your PC try reinstalling the map.
CollingsBob
Subscriber
Posts: 84
Joined: 28 Oct 2019 01:52
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Has liked: 133 times
Been liked: 20 times
Canada

Re: "There was an error calculating this route"

Post by CollingsBob »

I installed the North America map on my PC, but the errors occur when using the map of Scotland - I cannot find a way to download that map to my PC. I did re-download the Europe map to my Garmin 396, that did not solve the issue. I then updated the Nvidia drivers for the graphics card. The next thing I will try is to uninstall, then re-download and reinstall Garmin Basecamp.
The route is mildly complicated - this part of the route is from Inverness, through the Cairngorms, to just south-east of Perth.
Certified JB Welder
CollingsBob
Subscriber
Posts: 84
Joined: 28 Oct 2019 01:52
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Has liked: 133 times
Been liked: 20 times
Canada

Re: "There was an error calculating this route"

Post by CollingsBob »

I uninstalled Basecamp, then reinstalled it, with the GPS recognized by the computer…everything is fine now.
Certified JB Welder
sussamb
Posts: 1141
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 79 times
Been liked: 231 times
Great Britain

Re: "There was an error calculating this route"

Post by sussamb »

Great :D
CollingsBob
Subscriber
Posts: 84
Joined: 28 Oct 2019 01:52
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Has liked: 133 times
Been liked: 20 times
Canada

Re: "There was an error calculating this route"

Post by CollingsBob »

I spoke too soon. The PC isn’t loading the Europe map correctly. My route shows up, but is displaced off the road. As well, only major roads show up, not the “B” roads.
My iMac appears to load everything ok (touch wood) so it might be a Windows 10/Basecamp issue.
Certified JB Welder
sussamb
Posts: 1141
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 79 times
Been liked: 231 times
Great Britain

Re: "There was an error calculating this route"

Post by sussamb »

Are you sure it, and not the basic map, is selected, as what you describe indicates the CN map isn't selected. You can check it's there by running JaVaWa's GMTK program

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests