Hide track from map

For everything Garmin Zumo XT related
TripleThreat719
Posts: 50
Joined: 01 Jul 2019 17:35
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 12 times
United States of America

Re: Hide track from map

Post by TripleThreat719 »

Way too complicated to try to do it that way...

Garmin just needs to re-enable the ability to show or hide an item at the object level. It's really a simple solution if they just fix that one thing...

Right now, loading a GPX file for an event into one collection is a simple wireless process. When sharing GPX files at events, no one has the time to spend organizing every track that way.

You should be able to:
1. show up at an organized ride
2. download the GPX file and place it in a unique collection for that event
3. select which items in that collection show on the map
4. ride the event
5. go home...

It doesn't have to be so complicated if they just fix that one small thing...

I just want the ability to turn items in a collection on or off.
jfheath
Posts: 650
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 36 times
Been liked: 169 times
Great Britain

Re: Hide track from map

Post by jfheath »

Never mind. I tried !!
ST1300A9 - Currently: Zumo 590/5 and Zumo XT - Previous: Zumo 550 and Zumo 660.
BTM03 module to provide Bluetooth link to Autocom. XT paired up to Android Smartphone
TripleThreat719
Posts: 50
Joined: 01 Jul 2019 17:35
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 12 times
United States of America

Re: Hide track from map

Post by TripleThreat719 »

I have no doubt you could do it that way, and I appreciate your effort, but it shouldn't be that difficult...
b1324
Posts: 14
Joined: 29 Sep 2021 04:48
Been liked: 3 times
Slovenia

Re: Hide track from map

Post by b1324 »

jfheath wrote: 08 Oct 2021 06:37 To get rid of the link with the Explore website on the XT.

Main Screen -> View Map -> Tap Speed button, bottom left.

Now hold down the circular speed display top centre for ten seconds until the screen changes.

Then select

Developer Tests and Tools (next to bottom)
Reset Explore Database (next to bottom)

Nothing seems to happen. Thats OK.

Go back to the main menu.

Now if you go to Where To ? -> Explore It doesn't take you anywhere except to the process of setting it up again. Don't do it !! Proving that it is no longer connected.
I tried and this solved my problem, many thanks for this. I had to restart the device afterwards so that tracks were not seen on the map.
I am going to come back to this in the near future because I have a need to understand how to use tracks in the most user friendly and easy way possible.
jfheath
Posts: 650
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 36 times
Been liked: 169 times
Great Britain

Re: Hide track from map

Post by jfheath »

Glad that worked.

With explore disabled , you can turn on and off track visibility for each track individually in the same place that you set the width and colour for a track.
ST1300A9 - Currently: Zumo 590/5 and Zumo XT - Previous: Zumo 550 and Zumo 660.
BTM03 module to provide Bluetooth link to Autocom. XT paired up to Android Smartphone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Google [Bot] and 1 guest