Duplicating internal drive on zumo 396

For everything Garmin Zumo 390/395/396 related
CRracer
Posts: 53
Joined: 25 Apr 2020 17:59
Location: SE kansas
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 3 times
United States of America

Duplicating internal drive on zumo 396

Post by CRracer »

Figured before I did anything on my 396, I'd copy the internal drive contents.

As it came new, it showed it had a little over 4gb used. Selecting all contents in the drive only showed 259mb. I noticed no map files anywhere.

Then I just selected the internal drive itself and doing a copy showed it was copying the entire 4gb of data, and showed the large map file names as they were being copied, but they actually don't show visible, either on internal drive or in the folder that 4gb of data was copied too.

Yes, file manager was set to show hidden files.

Is there something on the newer zumos preventing the map files from showing up as they do on my two older ones?

New map names being copied were the same names as on my older units.

sussamb
Posts: 678
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 120 times
Great Britain

Re: Duplicating internal drive on zumo 396

Post by sussamb »

Also need to set to show system files, the folder you're not seeing contains the large map files etc, it's named .system

mpenner
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Apr 2019 14:29
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Duplicating internal drive on zumo 396

Post by mpenner »

JaVaWa device manager is very handy for exactly what you are try to do


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CRracer
Posts: 53
Joined: 25 Apr 2020 17:59
Location: SE kansas
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 3 times
United States of America

Re: Duplicating internal drive on zumo 396

Post by CRracer »

sussamb wrote:
01 May 2020 06:17
Also need to set to show system files, the folder you're not seeing contains the large map files etc, it's named .system
That got it!

Thanks!

CRracer
Posts: 53
Joined: 25 Apr 2020 17:59
Location: SE kansas
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 3 times
United States of America

Re: Duplicating internal drive on zumo 396

Post by CRracer »

mpenner wrote:
01 May 2020 13:28
JaVaWa device manager is very handy for exactly what you are try to do


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I'll check that out

CRracer
Posts: 53
Joined: 25 Apr 2020 17:59
Location: SE kansas
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 3 times
United States of America

Re: Duplicating internal drive on zumo 396

Post by CRracer »

Is there a way to turn off, once a for all, the user agreement that pops up every time I turn the unit on?

It's right before the warning about not playing with unit while driving.

I seem to hit accept but it comes back next time I turn it on.

CRracer
Posts: 53
Joined: 25 Apr 2020 17:59
Location: SE kansas
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 3 times
United States of America

Re: Duplicating internal drive on zumo 396

Post by CRracer »

I've got some IBA routes in my Zumo 550, what's the best way to get them over to the 396?

Routes were created on mapsource years ago.

sussamb
Posts: 678
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 120 times
Great Britain

Re: Duplicating internal drive on zumo 396

Post by sussamb »

CRracer wrote:
01 May 2020 14:31
Is there a way to turn off, once a for all, the user agreement that pops up every time I turn the unit on?

It's right before the warning about not playing with unit while driving.

I seem to hit accept but it comes back next time I turn it on.
It should disappear after you've got a satellite lock?

sussamb
Posts: 678
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 120 times
Great Britain

Re: Duplicating internal drive on zumo 396

Post by sussamb »

CRracer wrote:
01 May 2020 14:32
I've got some IBA routes in my Zumo 550, what's the best way to get them over to the 396?

Routes were created on mapsource years ago.
Routes should be in the file named current.gpx along with all your waypoints etc on your 550. Just copy that file to the GPX folder on your 396. Note though you must rename it to something other than current.gpx

When you then boot your 396 you should see the routes. Be sure once you do to delete the gpx file you renamed.

CRracer
Posts: 53
Joined: 25 Apr 2020 17:59
Location: SE kansas
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 3 times
United States of America

Re: Duplicating internal drive on zumo 396

Post by CRracer »

sussamb wrote:
01 May 2020 15:06
CRracer wrote:
01 May 2020 14:31
Is there a way to turn off, once a for all, the user agreement that pops up every time I turn the unit on?

It's right before the warning about not playing with unit while driving.

I seem to hit accept but it comes back next time I turn it on.
It should disappear after you've got a satellite lock?

Hmm, I'll give it some time. I know I got a satellite lock yesterday evening, it was previously showing Florida, took a couple minutes before it showed my current location and time.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests