Exporting routes

For any questions and tips and tricks on how to use Basecamp for PC then please post in this section.
rufasim
Posts: 36
Joined: 30 Nov 2021 01:07
Been liked: 5 times
United States of America

Exporting routes

Post by rufasim »

I have exported all my routes to an external hard drive. Can I just load these back into base camp on a new computer?
User avatar
Peobody
Subscriber
Posts: 298
Joined: 20 Apr 2021 13:33
Location: North Carolina
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 34 times
United States of America

Exporting routes

Post by Peobody »

Basecamp can import the exported .gpx file(s). I don't know is what this would look like if you exported "My Collection" when you did the export. I don't know if the result is a single .gpx file nor do I know whether any folder structure will be restored when you import.
2008 Honda GL1800 Goldwing
zūmo XT linked to Cardo Packtalk Bold and iPhone SE.
jfheath
Posts: 1140
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 104 times
Been liked: 282 times
Great Britain

Exporting routes

Post by jfheath »

The structure is lost by using gpx files, unfortunately.

You need to copy the database files. .gdb and the associated folder structure.

You can then get Basecamp on another computer to find them.

Hang on, I have some notes somewhere ......

Page 25 here. You may need to create an account.

https://issuu.com/jfheath/docs/zumo_590 ... mp_v4/1?ff


Here is a screenshot of the relevant part of that page.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Today, I discovered something really important. I found another way that doesn't work.
rufasim
Posts: 36
Joined: 30 Nov 2021 01:07
Been liked: 5 times
United States of America

Exporting routes

Post by rufasim »

What I do is once I know the route is complete and ready to ride, IO store it in a file on the computer. When I have several new routes completed, I transfer the file to the external hard drive. I do not copy the entire collection, just the state that the new routes are in.
sussamb
Posts: 1332
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 119 times
Been liked: 258 times
Great Britain

Re: Exporting routes

Post by sussamb »

@rufasim


I've split this topic away from the original thread which was on a different topic. Please in future try not to hijack other posts. Thanks
ZFtracker
Posts: 7
Joined: 05 Dec 2020 17:03
United States of America

Re: Exporting routes

Post by ZFtracker »

Could you not use the Basecamp backup function to create a backup copy, then transfer the backup copy to the new computer, and then do a restore?
jfheath
Posts: 1140
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 104 times
Been liked: 282 times
Great Britain

Re: Exporting routes

Post by jfheath »

Yeah, that would be a lot easier than my rather complicated suggestion 4 posts back.

My notes came about as I had a problem - Basecamp could no longer see the databases that were on my computer. It was something to do with having originally set up Basecamp with a different location from the default. BC stopped working after an OS upgrade.
So I couldn't create a backup of the routes that it could no longer see.

With about 10 lost databases, I got so familiar with this process, I just do it this way now.

Today, I discovered something really important. I found another way that doesn't work.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests