660 not importing route properly

For everything Garmin Zumo 660/665 related
w2ge
Posts: 19
Joined: 09 Jun 2020 22:51
Location: Voorhees NJ
Has liked: 19 times
United States of America

660 not importing route properly

Post by w2ge »

Need help for a friend, he uses Mac version of BaseCamp, older zumo 660, and master reset has been performed (a few times) while trying to fix this issue. Newest mapset on his Mac and gps.

So I created a route for an upcoming 2 day ride for our club. Route TO (Day 1) is 189 miles. I’ve imported the routes to my 396 (I’m on Windows BaseCamp, I’m not a Mac guy) and no issues, another rider has a 660 and again no issues. Friends Mac and gps are on newest mapset. (He’s checked, 2021.2)

Route was created on an older mapset but has been moved around, changed for this ride so some of route from older mapset, some newer shaping points in 2021.2

Anyway, when he transfers the route to his gps from his Mac and sent directly to device it is all screwed up. It lists the route as like 841 miles, etc. He’s deleted, master reset, tried reloading etc, always messed up.

Edit: We kind of fixed the problem... he selected route, then hit edit, then “optimally reorder points” and now they seem 100%. Mileage is correct. . Still want to know why this is happening with his gps...

Not sure if this should actually be on BaseCamp for MAC, but tbh, I think it’s his gps, not BaseCamp causing the issue, I’ve loaded long routes Into his gps in the past and he had same issue. IIRC, After a master reset it fixed the problem once...
Phil - Current VP New Sweden BMW Riders, Past President
Voorhees, NJ
Zumo 396 -> SENA 10C
BMW R1200RT
APRILIA Caponord Rally

danham
Posts: 23
Joined: 13 Jul 2018 14:25
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 5 times
United States of America

Re: 660 not importing route properly

Post by danham »

This and other weird behavior, often involving impossible mileage estimates (everything from your huge 841 miles to no miles at all) can often be cured simply by forcing the route to recalculate once it is imported to the 660. Yes, I know it calculates when you import, but a forced recalc seems to fix some problems, and importantly, reveal others, such as lack of shaping points or bad routing, before you head out.

-dan
Zumo 660, nuvi 760 and many retired units dating back to the GPS III+
2018 Kawasaki Ninja H2 SX SE

JohnnyRidesAlone
Posts: 28
Joined: 13 May 2020 13:10
Been liked: 2 times
Great Britain

Re: 660 not importing route properly

Post by JohnnyRidesAlone »

I had this on my XT recently. It was because I saved the route on my PC as a .GDB not a .GPX

w2ge
Posts: 19
Joined: 09 Jun 2020 22:51
Location: Voorhees NJ
Has liked: 19 times
United States of America

Re: 660 not importing route properly

Post by w2ge »

JohnnyRidesAlone wrote:
05 Oct 2020 13:08
I had this on my XT recently. It was because I saved the route on my PC as a .GDB not a .GPX
Interesting.. but I’m sure I posted route as .gpx

I’ve gotten away from saving as .gdb as overall, most of my club is Gps clueless and sending in .gdb Format just throws another wrench into the confusion :lol: :lol:
Phil - Current VP New Sweden BMW Riders, Past President
Voorhees, NJ
Zumo 396 -> SENA 10C
BMW R1200RT
APRILIA Caponord Rally

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests