Zumo 595 Map Location

For everything Garmin Zumo 590/595 related
BillL
Been liked: 1 time
United States of America

Zumo 595 Map Location

Post by BillL »

I posted elsewhere recently regarding “route corruption” when using my Zumo 550 and work done in BaseCamp.

I have since decided to retire the 550 and bought a 595LM.

One of the things I learned from this community, the “old one”, was how to have the map reside on the SD card and free up internal memory for tracks and gpx data files exported from BaseCamp.

I am just getting started with the 595. Added a microSD card. The 595 looks just like the 550 when connected to the Mac. 2 volumes, the Zumo and then the SD card.

Will the 595 behave the same way as the 550 with respect to a supplemental map only? The 595 appears to be about and 8gB device with about 1 gB free. I cannot find any entry in the directories that appears to be the map image file. Is it being hidden from the operating system?

I would like to operate with maps only installed on the SD card, freeing up the 595 internal memory for gpx files, favorites and routes and tracks. I lost a lot of trip history on the 550 in the early days before I learned of the cramped internal memory and not using SD card. I’d like to continue running that way, not worrying about memory over runs and the device locking up, requiring hard reset and loss of track data.

I have downloaded the BaseCamp tutorials developed by one of the members here. I’ve begun to study those.

Any help on the map location matter will be appreciated. I have a lot of notes on the process gathered over the life lived with the 550. Would the same process apply here if I can locate the map files?

Thank you
Bill
2013 Ducati Multistrada 1200
rbentnail
Has liked: 91 times
Been liked: 195 times
United States of America

Re: Zumo 595 Map Location

Post by rbentnail »

Hi Bill.

I use Win10 but nonetheless, I do it completely opposite from what you are asking.